News Post

Chief Minister

Hon. Jacob Jusu Saffa

Chief Minister

Republic of Sierra Leone

Jacob Jusu Saffa serves as the Chief Minister of the Republic of Sierra Leone and currently superintending the Ministry of Finance until further notice. Before his new appointment, he served as the substantive Minister of Finance of Sierra Leone since April 12, 2018.

He was a member of a Transition Team set up by President Bio to conduct a stock-taking exercise of the state of affairs of Government Ministries, Department and Agencies. He was the Team Lead for the Finance and Economic Development Pillar under the Transition Team.

Mr. Saffa started his career as a Development Planning Officer at the Ministry of Development and Economic Planning. He also has experience in training and facilitating, community mobilization and working in conflict and post-conflict environments.

Mr. Saffa is familiar with donor procedures and operations including that of the UN system, World Bank and the AFDB. Between 2002 and 2005 (post-war reconstruction and reintegration era), he served as HD Specialist in the WB Sierra Leone Country Office.

Between 1994–2002, he was a part-time lecturer at the Department of Economics, Fourah Bay College, University of Sierra Leone. In 2005, Mr. Jacob Jusu Saffa became the National Secretary-General of the Sierra Leone People’s Party (SLPP), a position he held until 2011. During the 2018 general elections, Mr. Saffa was the Chairman of the SLPP Election Management Team.

He holds a Bachelor of Science (Honours) Degree in Economics from Fourah Bay College, University of Sierra Leone and a Master of Arts degree in Economic Development and Planning from the United Nations Institute for Economic Development and Planning in Dakar, Senegal.

Press Releases

Related Posts