The Republic of Sierra Leone State House

  • President Koroma and his Nigerian counterpart, President Buhari

  • President Ernest Bai Koroma with President Xi Jinping of China

  • President Obama hosts President Koroma at the Oval Office

  • U.N. Special Event Luncheon

AU Commission condoles with Sierra Leone over August 14 tragedy

By State House Communication Unit

au chairIn her capacity as Commissioner for Social Affairs of the Africa Union Commission, Ambassador S.E. Amira Elfadil, visited President Ernest Bai Koroma this morning, Thursday 24 August, alongside other senior AU officials to express heartfelt condolences to the Government and people of Sierra Leone for the mudslides and flooding disaster that hit Freetown recently.

According to Madam Elfadil, the Commission has been closely following the tragedy and sharing information with world bodies for appropriate measures. As a way of immediate response, she presented on behalf of the Commission, a cheque of USD$100,000 as emergency aid grants.

Receiving the delegation, President Koroma thanked the AU Commission for the support, saying that the Commission has always been supportive to Sierra Leone especially during times of difficulty.

As usual, the president updated the AU delegation, outlining the various measures already taken by government, including the provision of temporary locations of affected persons as a first step. The second step, he pointed out, would focus on provision of permanent accommodation for victims.

The provision of permanent housing, President Koroma emphasized, would not only target affected persons but also cover persons living in disaster prone areas. He disclosed that over 5000 people have been registered and that construction work on a permanent settlement for directly affected persons is already in progress.



Related articles:

You are here  :

Office of The President

  • 18-11
  • Public Sector Reform Unit (PSRU) 
  • Anti-Corruption Commission (ACC) 
  • Office of Diaspora Affairs (ODA) 
  • Extractive Industry Transparency Initiative (EITI) 
  • Sierra Leone Environmental Protection Agency (SLEPA) 
  • Office of National Security (ONS)
  • Petroleum Directorate
  • National HIV/AIDS Secretariat (NAS)
  • Human Resource Management Office (HRMO) 
  • African Peer Review Mechanism (APRM) 
  • National Asset and Government Property Commission